MEDIA CENTER

Upcoming webinars

The three events will demonstrate how to use the GFDx to explore topics such as fortification legislation, protocols for monitoring fortification, quality of fortified foods, and the coverage of populations consuming fortified foods. Also see how to generate custom maps, charts, plots, and download data for offline analysis.

Join us for webinars in English and Spanish:

Regions: Africa and Europe Region: Latin America Region: Asia
Date: 12 June 2019

Time: 13:00 London/Freetown, 14:00 Paris, 15:00 Cape Town, 16:00 Nairobi

Language: English

Access here: http://bit.ly/GFDxEuropeAfricaWebinar

Google users save the invite to your calendar: GFDx V2 webinar

Date: 20 June 2019

Time: 12:00 Mexico City, 14:00 Buenos Aires

Language: Spanish

Access here: http://bit.ly/GFDxWebinarLatinAmerica

Google users save the invite to your calendar: GFDx V2 webinar

Date: 11 July 2019

Time: 11:30 New Delhi, 13:00 Bangkok, 14:00 Beijing, 16:00 Canberra

Language: English

Access here: http://bit.ly/GFDxAsiaWebinar

Google users save the invite to your calendar: GFDx V2 webinar

Publications

Have you used GFDx data in your research? Please let us know and we’ll list it here.

Join the GFDx conversation!

Use these handles on social media:

Data in action

Recent publications using GFDx data:

Press releases

GFDx version 2 launch – February 28, 2019

Food fortification could be the next global health success story – if countries close the gaps

Data visualization tool identifies opportunities to reach 2 billion affected by hidden hunger

ATLANTA, Ga.; GENEVA; SEATTLE, Wash.; WASHINGTON, D.C., Feb. 28, 2019 – Two-thirds of all countries mandate food fortification to combat hidden hunger, yet many are not necessarily translating policy into improved nutrition, according to new data from the Global Fortification Data Exchange (GFDx). These countries may be missing an immense opportunity to improve the health of children and mothers, bolster communities, and boost national economies.

Hidden hunger, also known as micronutrient deficiency, is a lack of critical vitamins and minerals. It can be life-threatening and cause lifelong conditions, including intellectual disability, preventable blindness, and birth defects. Today, it affects more than a quarter of the global population –  2 billion people.

GFDx shows that many countries have taken a critical first step to eliminate hidden hunger through the legislation of food fortification – a proven, cost-effective, sustainable, and scalable intervention to address hidden hunger by adding vitamins and minerals to staple foods.

According to the latest GFDx data, 137 of 196 countries mandate food fortification of at least one food, while 68 mandate fortification of two foods. However, in these countries, commonly fortified foods – oil, wheat, and maize flour – reach only 51%, 26%, and 4%, respectively, of people on average. The rest are potentially vulnerable to deficiency in critical nutrients. Moreover, GFDx shows significant gaps in data that need to be filled to give an accurate picture of both progress and remaining challenges.

“GFDx shows that countries are on board with food fortification, but they’re struggling to implement it, or at least not collecting the data on program performance,” says Helena Pachón, Senior Nutrition Scientist at the Food Fortification Initiative.

Driving commitment to a healthier world – through data

For the first time, GFDx allows users to track and map international progress toward fortification of major food staples: specifically, oil, rice, salt, and maize and wheat flour. GFDx aggregates and visualizes data from every country from 1940 to the present. In its newest iteration, GFDx reports population coverage of food fortification, along with food quality, monitoring protocols, food availability and intake, and legislation and standards. With data visualizations designed to engage decision makers, the tool generates custom maps, charts, and tables, and options to download data for offline analysis.

“GFDx isn’t just a data tool, it’s an advocacy tool, to drive demand and political will,” says Jessica Fanzo, co-Chair of the 2018 Global Nutrition Report and Bloomberg Distinguished Associate Professor of Global Food & Agricultural Policy and Ethics at Johns Hopkins University. “Not only does it tell us which foods are fortified and how many people those foods are reaching, it’s designed for the right audience: decision makers. As a country leader, if you can see that a critical vitamin is reaching people in a neighboring country, but not your own? That has the potential to be highly motivating.”

The tool also promotes critical knowledge exchanges that drive progress. According to Patrizia Fracassi, Senior Nutrition Analyst and Strategy Advisor of the Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Movement, “we’re relying on the GFDx to show us, for example, that a given country has been able to enact and monitor policy, or has scaled up the coverage of fortification, or has shown changes in the consumption of vitamin-rich foods. With these concrete cases we can get to work at an actionable level and encourage countries to learn from each other.”

About the GFDx

GFDx is led by a nutrition coalition comprised of the Food Fortification Initiative, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition, Iodine Global Network, and Micronutrient Forum, and supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

To access the latest data, visit the GFDx at www.fortificationdata.org.

Join the conversation on social media: #GFDx.

Media Contact

Katie Shaw, Communications, Global Fortification Data Exchange and Iodine Global Network, +1 206 963 9576, kshaw@ign.org